Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Windows Phone 8.x and Windows 10 Mobile erasure process:

  • Connect device
  • The device icon is shown in "CONNECTED" status
  • Press "Erase device"
  • Device icon goes "REQUIRES ATTENTION" status with prompt to do factory reset
  • Start factory reset
    • From device settings: Factory reset can usually be started in Settings > About > Reset your phone.
    • Using hardware buttons: If the device screen is locked, the only way to do factory reset is by hardware button. The process with WP8.x is usually following:
      • Press and hold Volume down button and Power button at the same time until you feel a vibration (about 10-15 seconds).
      • Immediately press and hold the Volume down button until you see a large exclamation mark.
      • Press the following four buttons in the order: Volume up button, Volume down button, Power button, Volume down button.
  • Device icon goes to "REBOOTING"
  • ...
  • After factory reset, device icon goes "ERASING" status
  • ...
  • When finished with the erasure, device icon goes to "ERASED" status

 

Windows Phone 7.x erasure process:

  • Connect device
  • The device icon is shown in "CONNECTED" status
  • Press "Erase device"
  • Factory reset
    • Factory reset is started automatically in most cases
    • If factory reset cannot be started automatically, device icon goes to "REQUIRES ATTENTION" status with prompt to do factory reset. If the screen is locked, the only way to do factory reset is to use the button combination. Refer to manufacturer documentation for more information on resetting the device.
  • Device icon goes to "REBOOTING" status
  • ...
  • After factory reset, the device icon goes to "REQUIRES ATTENTION" status with prompt to start the camera application
  • Activate the device and start camera application (camera application should not be closed as long as the erasure is ongoing)
  • Device icon goes to "ERASING" status
  • If the device disk are locked during the erasure, the device icon goes to "REQUIRES ATTENTION" status with a prompt to start the camera application
  • ...
  • When finished with the erasure, device icon goes to "ERASED" status

Rate Macro

...