An iOS device can be in different states. The iOS smart reset detects the device state and automatically selects the best method to erase the device:
1. Not activated. Device is in welcome screen where ‘Hello’ text is shown on device screen.
- If no user data found, erasure report can be created.
- If user data found, user is prompted to erase the device or run factory reset manually. It is also possible to configure automatic erasure time-out in this case.
2. Activated. Device has been activated to normal usage. The screen can be locked with passcode.
- User is prompted to erase the device or run factory reset manually. It is also possible to configure automatic erasure time-out in this case.
3. Recovery mode. The ‘Connect to iTunes’ screen is shown on the device.
- Device is automatically switched to normal mode, to states 1 or 2, and the erasure continues from there.
4. DFU mode. Device Firmware Upgrade mode.
- Device is automatically erased using ‘Apple iOS erasure’ method.