---
title: "How does iOS smart reset work in different device states?"
canonical: "https://support.blancco.com/space/KB/11633333/How%20does%20iOS%20smart%20reset%20work%20in%20different%20device%20states%3F"
format: markdown
---
An iOS device can be in different states. The iOS smart reset detects the device state and automatically selects the best method to erase the device:

**1. Not activated.** Device is in welcome screen where ‘Hello’ text is shown on device screen.

- If no user data found, erasure report can be created.
- If user data found, user is prompted to erase the device or run factory reset manually. It is also possible to configure automatic erasure time-out in this case.

**2. Activated.** Device has been activated to normal usage. The screen can be locked with passcode.

- User is prompted to erase the device or run factory reset manually. It is also possible to configure automatic erasure time-out in this case.

**3. Recovery mode.** The ‘Connect to iTunes’ screen is shown on the device.

- Device is automatically switched to normal mode, to states 1 or 2, and the erasure continues from there.

**4. DFU mode.** Device Firmware Upgrade mode.

- Device is automatically erased using ‘Apple iOS erasure’ method.